Minutes of the 62nd Annual General Meeting of the Derbyshire Wildlife Trust Saturday 5th October 2024, 1pm at Common Farm

In attendance:

Cara Turton-Chambers (Trustee) Gillian Foxcroft (Trustee) James Shooter (Trustee) Lynn Crowe (Trustee) Nigel Huish (Vice-Chair) Patricia Rice (Trustee) Paul Lynch (Trustee) Richard Cuthbert (Trustee)

Wendy Furness (Trustee) Jo Smith (Chief Executive Officer) Alex Rogers (Company Secretary)

28 members (the register of attendees is retained by the Trust)

The Chair welcomed everyone and noted that apologies received would be recorded in the minutes of the meeting.

The Chair made reflections on the successes and achievements of the Trust and highlighted recent funding successes, that over 2.5 million species records are now held with the Derbyshire Biological Records Centre hosted by DWT and thanked the 2000+ people who helped support the purchase of Common Farm.

The Vice Chair presented the annual accounts to March 2024.

The Vice Chair reported that the Statement of Financial Activity shows Trust income has increased by £300,000 and expenditure has remained relatively stable. There has been an operational loss of £19,000 compared to £283,000 the previous year.

The Vice Chair said that the Balance Sheet shows no movement in net assets and fixed assets have increased by £2,000,000 due to the purchase of Common Farm. Liabilities have also increase by £2,000,000 due to loans to fund the purchase.

With regard to income; grants, contracts and memberships have increased, and legacies and fund generation has decreased.

The Vice Chair stated that the Trust is in a good position regarding financial reserves with £958,000 of restricted assets and £840,000 of cash at the year end.

The Vice Chair stated that BHP, the Trust's auditors, confirmed that the accounts:

- Provide a true and fair view of the activities for the year ended 31 March 2024.
- Have been properly prepared in accordance with UK GAAP.
- Have been prepared in accordance with the requirements of the Companies Act 2006 and the Charities Act 2011.

1 Apologies for absence

Dawn Asher David Renwick (Trustee) Stephanie Gradwell Tim Graham (Trustee)

2 Approval of the Minutes of the 61st AGM (Annual General Meeting) Held on 30th September 2023.

The minutes of the 60th AGM were accepted by 15 members and 3 members chose to abstain.

3 Adoption of the Trustees' Annual Report and Accounts for 2023-24

The Adoption of the Trustees' Annual Report and Accounts for 2023-24 was carried unanimously by a show of hands.

4 Appointment of the Trust's Auditors

The Chair proposed the reappointment of BHP as the Trust's Auditors for the current financial year.

The decision was carried unanimously by a show of hands and BHP Chartered Accountants were appointed the Trust's auditors for 2024/2025.

5 Articles of Association

The decision to adopt updated Articles of Association was carried unanimously by a show of hands.

6 Election of Trustees

The Chair explained that Trustees remain in office for three years from the date they are elected and may stand for re-election at the end of the three year period provided they have less than six years' service.

Three Trustees, Cara Turton Chambers, Gillian Foxcroft and Lynn Crowe are nominated by the Board for re-election.

Proposed by: Peter Oldfield Seconded by: Anita Lawrence

The decision to re-elect the above Trustees was carried unanimously by a show of hands.

Three Coopted Trustees, James Shooter, Patricia Rice and Richard Cuthbert are nominated by the Board for election.

Proposed by: .	John Page	Seconded by:	Maureen Ashton
----------------	-----------	--------------	----------------

The decision to elect the above Trustees was carried unanimously by a show of hands.

Two Individuals, Dawn Asher and Stephanie Gradwell are nominated by the Board for election.

Proposed by: Cara Turton Chambers Seconded by: Marion Blenkinsop

The decision to elect the above Trustees was carried unanimously by a show of hands.

The Chair answered a question from Tanya Spilsbury, Belper West Bank project.

With there being no questions and no other business, the Chair thanked all for attending and the meeting ended at 1.50pm.